Meta menu:

From here, you can access the Emergencies page, Contact Us page, Accessibility Settings, Language Selection, and Search page.

Open Menu

Supervisory Board

As a result of the Berliner Universitätsmedizingesetz, a law passed in 2005 which sets out Charité's obligations with regard to research, teaching, and health-care provision, Charité is required to have a Supervisory Board. The Supervisory Board acts in an advisory capacity to the Board of Directors, monitors Charité's overall financial performance, and ensures that standards of quality in teaching and learning are maintained.

You are here:

Supervisory Board of Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin

Members with voting rights

  • Dr. Ina Czyborra
    Berlin’s Senator for Science, Health and Care; Chairwoman of the Supervisory Board

  • Stefan Evers
    Berlin’s Senator for Financial Affairs

  • Irmtraut Gürkan
    Political Economist, most recently Hospital Business Director of Heidelberg University Hospital

  • Prof. Dr. Michael Baumann
    Professor at the Dresden University of Technology, Chairman and Scientific Director of the German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ)

  • Prof. Dr. Julia von Blumenthal
    President of Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

  • Prof. Dr. Angelika Eggert
    Director Department of Paedriatrics, Department of Oncology and Hematology

  • Ulla Hedemann
    Department of Pediatrics, Division of Pulmonology, Immunology and Critical Care Medicine

  • Prof. Dr. Denise Hilfiker-Kleiner, PhD
    Dean of the Faculty of Medicine at the Philipps Universität Marburg

  • Prof. Dr. Adelheid Kuhlmey
    Science Director CharitéCenter Health and Human Sciences CC1, Director of the Institute of Medical Sociology and Rehabilitation Science

  • Prof. Dr. Hans Maier
    Chief Executive Officer of DHZB-Stiftung

  • Stefan Oelrich
    Member of The Bayer AG Board of Management and Head of the Pharmaceuticals Division, Member of the Supervisory Board of the Berlin Institute of Health (BIH)

  • Prof. Dr. Jörg-Wilhelm Oestmann
    Department of Radiology (including Pediatric Radiology) Campus Virchow-Klinikum

  • Judith Pirscher
    State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of Education and Research

  • PD Dr. Paul Ritschl
    Department of Surgery Campus Charité Mitte / Campus Virchow-Klinikum

Advisory Members

  • Dr. Christine Kurmeyer
    Women's and Equal Opportunities Commissioner at Charité

  • Rene Greif
    Chair of the Central Staff Committee

  • Andreas Brauer
    Person of trust  of the representation of severely disabled persons

  • Raphael Raspe
    Member of the Group of Students of the Faculty Council

Supervisory Board – Main Office

Dr. Magnus Rüde

Supervisory Board HeadquartersCharité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin

Postal address:Charitéplatz 110117 Berlin

Campus / internal address:Charitéplatz 1 (Friedrich-Althoff-Haus)

CCM, Charitéplatz 1